What Degarmeaux Does…

A supplemental blog for my Snapguide friends and followers.

For the love of a tea dress…

I fell in love with a tea dress. It was about 2 years ago. Someone in the UK made it and by the the time my mother went to snatch it up for me as a Christmas gift, it had been long gone. I still think of it today. It was gorgeous.

If given the opportunity, I would dress like Diane Lane in Under the Tuscan Sun. EVERY. DAY.

UNDER THE TUSCAN SUN

under-the-tuscan-sun1

I adore this style, but apparently I am having a difficult time tracking down people who make affordable versions of these 50s and 60s classics. I can’t even believe I love this style as much as I do. It took me till the age of 19 to finally, willingly, wear a dress – and even then, it happened maybe 3 times a year. As I grew in and then out of my 20s, I realize that these vintage styles fit and flatter my body better than anything I can find in today’s boutique, outlet mall, or friend’s closet.

Slide1

Slide2

I guess I will have to learn to use a sewing machine. That has been on my to-do list for about 10 years.  (I used to know how to work my way around a Singer. I once made a Pacos Bill hand-puppet and his trusty tornado for a class project.)

So, who out there does for real “making clothes” type sewing on a machine? I need a quick tutorial. Don’t dummy it down too much, I can manage a pillow case and a hem for chrissake.

*sigh* Aren’t these lovely?

 

$T2eC16F,!)sE9swm(vcyBRTgvL8(Mg~~60_57 $T2eC16JHJHEE9ny2p6RtBRTgzyRqSw~~60_57

Not kidding.

OUTFIT. EVERY. DAY.

Barefoot.

♥ degarmeaux

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 31, 2013 by in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
